heatwaves, drought and forest fires in Spain

Portugal

Rising from the ashes

Marta Pinto, the first winner of the Terre de Femmes Portugal Award, is utterly devoted to the natural world and is working to counteract the ravages triggered by intensive monoculture of maritime pine and eucalyptus trees in Portugal’s Porto region.

Marta’s commitment to her cause is all-encompassing, as she and her Futuro association fight tirelessly to eradicate eucalyptus trees, an invasive species that dries out the soil and contributes to forest fires. To counteract this ecological disaster, Marta decided to plant indigenous trees, putting native species that are more resistant to fires and beneficial to local flora and fauna back in the heart of the landscape.

Fire-fighting together
She has successfully managed to rally around a number of volunteers and local political and social stakeholders to help her achieve her goal of protecting the native forests that act as ramparts for the surrounding villages against the scourge of forest fires.

Find more out the projet Portugal : https://www.100milarvores.pt/author/marta-pinto

If you want to find out more about our tree planting programme in France and around the world,

Découvrez discover Plant for the Planet.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Photo d'un arbre

Portugal

Renaître de ses cendres

Marta Pinto, première Lauréate du Prix Terre de Femmes Portugal et amoureuse inconditionnelle de la nature, dénonce aux côtés de son association Futuro, les ravages causés par les monocultures intensives de pins maritimes, mais surtout d’eucalyptus dans la région de Porto, au Portugal.

Habitée par son combat Marta lutte parcelle après parcelle avec son association Futuro pour éradiquer l’eucalyptus, plante invasive qui assèche les sols et favorise les feux de forêt et les incendies. Pour dénoncer ce carnage écologique, Marta a décidé de planter des arbres indigènes en redonnant toute sa place aux espèces natives, plus résistantes aux incendies et bénéfiques au développement de la faune et de la flore locales.

Ensemble, mobilisés contre le feu

Pour l’aider elle parvient à mobiliser de nombreux bénévoles et des acteurs politiques et sociaux locaux dans la préservation des forêts indigènes véritables remparts pour les villages alentours contre le fléau du feu.

En savoir plus sur le projet Portugal : https://www.100milarvores.pt/author/marta-pinto

Vous avez envie d’en savoir plus sur notre programme de plantation d’arbres en France et dans le monde ?

Découvrez Plantons pour la planète.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager