Susanna Magistretti

Vocational and social integration in prison

Susanna established an educational garden inside a prison to raise awareness about environmental conservation, reduce the chance of inmates re-offending and help ease prisoners back into wider society and the world of work.

According to Susanna Magistretti, the best slogan for her project would be: “When nature thrives in prison”. Her initiative draws in members of the public who come to visit and buy plants from the nursery, and inspires green-fingered inmates, giving them an idea of what a natural garden looks like in the ecological corridor she has created that connects the prison to the city,

Susanna and her Cascina Bollate association hope to foster greater environmental awareness, a keener appreciation of resources and a better understanding of nature through their natural garden initiative. It allows those working in the educational garden while serving their sentences to make their own contribution to environmental protection.

Re-offending rates for inmates given the opportunity to work are estimated at 10 to 20%, while 70 to 80% of those who don’t work are likely to re-offend. At Cascina Bollate, thanks to Susanna’s garden project, 18 inmates have been hired by the cooperative since 2008, with a stable core of five to seven inmates associated with the cooperative.

Over the past few years, seven of them served their sentences, two of them now work in other sectors and four work for gardening companies. One of the four returned to the prison as a free man to work with Cascina Bollate on a stable, regular basis as a production manager at the nursery. Three inmates are to be employed for the project on a fixed-term basis, with two others hired on an ad-hoc basis.

Are you working on a project that fosters biodiversity, and has a positive social and environmental impact? Do you need support to take your ideas further?

If so, apply to the Terre de Femmes Award and you may just secure a grant and the support of an entire network of inspiring women!

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Susanna Magistretti

Insertion professionnelle et sociale en prison

Susanna a réaménagé un jardin didactique à l'intérieur d'une prison afin de sensibiliser à la préservation de la nature, baisser le taux de récidive et faciliter l'insertion professionnelle des détenus.

Selon Susanna Magistretti, “La nature entre en prison” devrait être le slogan de ce projet. D’une part, pour offrir un intérêt supplémentaire au public venant visiter et acheter les plantes de la pépinière, d’autre part pour motiver les jardiniers détenus de manière à ce qu’ils aient une idée de jardin naturel, dans une sorte de couloir écologique qui, depuis la prison, les mènent en ville et vice et versa. 


Susanna et son association Cascina Bollate essaient de faire un pas vers plus de sensibilité environnementale, une plus grande attention aux ressources et une meilleure compréhension de la nature, sous la forme d’un jardin naturel. De cette manière, les personnes qui travailleront au cours de leur incarcération dans le jardin didactique donneront une petite contribution pour la sauvegarde de la nature.

Généralement, pour les détenus qui ont la possibilité de travailler, la récidive est estimée de 10 à 20%. Néanmoins, pour ceux qui ne travaillent pas, on parle de 70 à 80% de récidive. A la Cascina Bollate et grâce au projet du Jardin de Susanna, 18 détenus ont été embauchés par la coopérative de 2008 à nos jours, avec une base stable allant de 5 à 7 détenus associés à la coopérative.


Au cours de ces dernières années, 7 d’entre eux sont sortis pour fin de peine, 2 travaillent dans d’autres secteurs et 4 travaillent dans des entreprises de jardinage. Enfin l’un des 4 est revenu en prison en homme libre pour travailler de manière stable avec Cascina Bollate en qualité de responsable de la production dans la pépinière. Pour le projet, 3 détenus seront employés de façon régulière et 2 autres occasionnellement.


Vous aussi, vous avez un projet en faveur de la biodiversité, avec une visée sociale et environnementale ? Vous cherchez à être soutenue pour le faire avancer ?

Candidatez au Prix Terre de Femmes et décrochez peut-être une bourse et le soutien de tout un réseau de femmes engagées.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager