Pierre-Henri Gouyon source of inspiration yves rocher foundation

Pierre-Henri Gouyon

A versatile Research Board member

Pierre-Henri is a geneticist and a professor at the École Polytechnique and the Natural History Museum in Paris. He is also a member of the Inserm Ethics Committee.

Pierre-Henri Gouyon was born on 25 December 1953. Recruited as a teacher at the Agro school in 1976, he was a professor at Université de Paris-Sud (Orsay) from 1988 to 2005 and at the École Polytechnique from 1994 to 2008 (vice-chair of the biology department from 2001 to 2006).

He has also been a member of the following entities: the operational ethics committee in the life sciences department of the CNRS, the Conseil National des Universités, the Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique, the ‘Ecosystms and Sustainable Development’ department at the French National Research Agency, the ‘Conseil Scientifique des Conférences Jacques Monod’ at the CNRS, and the ethics committee at Inserm.

He has been a professor at France’s Natural History Museum since 2005, at the AgroParisTech since 1988, at Sciences Po since 2009 and at the ENS since 2012, and conducts research as part of the botany team at the UMR MNHN-CNRS OSEB (7205). He was appointed to London’s Academia Europaea in 2008.
He gives a number of conferences and talks on subjects surrounding evolution, genetics, ecology, biodiversity and bioethics, and contributes significantly to debates on the relationships between the sciences and wider society. More specifically, he is interested in the social consequences of the theory of evolution on our perception of the living world and on transgenic plant cultivation. He belongs, or has belonged, to a range of French committees devoted to science in wider society, and was the rapporteur for the national research conferences’ Group 1 (Research & Society) in 2004. He is a member of the scientific boards of the ‘Agence Française pour la Biodiversité’ and the Fondation Nicolas Hulot’s think tank.

 

livre pierre-henri gouyon le fil de la vie
Le Fil de la vie : La face immatérielle du vivant (2016)

What if some living beings weren’t material? Potentially eternal and struggling for survival, they evolve and make up the matter that unites living beings across time. They are the lifeblood of life itself.
These immaterial living beings are information. They exist within us and through us, in our genes, cultures and ecosystems. Life generates information, processes information and defines itself by the information it possesses. This books helps us to understand the living world in an entirely new light, and is the result of fascinating discussions between three researchers who, each in their own way, arrived at the same questions related to nature. They provide us with a new description of life, where the fight for existence isn’t led by living beings but by the messages they carry as ephemeral bearers of information.

Would you like to know more about the Yves Rocher Foundation’s initiatives? Click here !

 
 
 

 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Pierre-Henri Gouyon source d’inspiration fondation yves rocher

Pierre-Henri Gouyon

Eclaireur polyvalent

Généticien, professeur à l'École polytechnique et au Muséum d'histoire naturelle de Paris, Pierre est également membre du comité d'éthique de l'Inserm.

Pierre-Henri Gouyon est né le 25 décembre 1953. Recruté comme enseignant à l’Agro en 1976, il a été professeur à l’Université de Paris-Sud (Orsay) de 1988 à 2005 et à l’École Polytechnique de 1994 à 2008 (vice-président du département de biologie 2001-2006).

Il a assuré diverses responsabilités telles que faire partie du comité opérationnel d’éthique dans les sciences de la vie du CNRS, du Conseil National des Universités, du Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique, du comité “Écosystèmes et développement durable” de l’ANR, du Conseil Scientifique des Conférences Jacques Monod du CNRS et du comité d’éthique de l’INSERM.

Il est actuellement professeur au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (depuis 2005), à l’AgroParisTech (depuis 1988), à Sciences Po (depuis 2009) et à l’ENS (depuis 2012) et réalise ses recherches au sein de l’équipe de botanique dans l’UMR MNHN-CNRS OSEB(7205). Il a été élu en 2008 à l’Academia Europaea (Londres).
Il donne de nombreuses conférences sur les questions ayant trait à l’évolution, à la génétique, à l’écologie, à la biodiversité et à la bioéthique. Il est largement impliqué dans les débats concernant les relations sciences-société en général. Plus particulièrement, il se préoccupe d’une part des conséquences sociales de la théorie de l’évolution sur notre perception du vivant et d’autre part de la culture de plantes transgéniques. Il appartient ou a appartenu à divers comités nationaux en lien avec les questions de Science dans la Société et a été le rapporteur du groupe 1 (Recherche & Société) aux assises nationales de la recherche de 2004. Il est membre des Conseils Scientifiques de l’Agence Française de la Biodiversité et du Think-Tank de la Fondation Nicolas Hulot.

 

livre pierre-henri gouyon le fil de la vie
Le Fil de la vie : La face immatérielle du vivant (2016)

Et si certaines entités vivantes n’étaient pas matérielles ? Potentiellement éternelles, en lutte pour la survie, elles évoluent. Elles constituent ce qui unit les êtres à travers le temps. Elles sont le fil de la vie.
Ces entités vivantes immatérielles sont des informations. Elles existent à travers nous, dans nos gènes, dans notre culture, dans nos écosystèmes. La vie produit l’information, lit l’information et se définit par l’information qu’elle porte. Ce livre nous aide à comprendre le monde vivant d’une manière toute nouvelle et est le résultat de discussions passionnées entre trois chercheurs qui, chacun à sa manière, étaient parvenus au même questionnement à propos de la nature. Ils nous proposent une nouvelle description du vivant, où la lutte pour l’existence n’est pas celle des êtres, mais des messages qui passent à travers eux et dont ils sont les hôtes éphémères.

Vous aussi, vous avez un projet en faveur de la biodiversité, avec une visée sociale et environnementale ? Vous cherchez à être soutenue ? Candidatez au Prix Terre de Femmes et décrochez peut-être une bourse et le soutien de tout un réseau de femmes engagées.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager