Marieke Ketelaar, wildflower meadows in towns and cities

Marieke Ketelaar

Say it with flowers !

Through their NL Bloeit! association, Marieke Ketelaar and ArjanVerhout are planting wildflower meadows in the heart of the city. As ardent defenders of native species, they are also sowing the seeds of the idea that these flowers are crucial to the local ecosystem, and are treating the town to a complete makeover.

Marieke Ketelaar and Arjan Vernhout just love flowers. Romantic? Possibly. Eco-minded? Definitely. In 2013, they co-founded the NL Bloeit! association with a view to promoting and protecting native Dutch flower species in public spaces in the Netherlands.
These two green-hearted souls are doing more than just giving bees a helping hand. They see flowers, particularly local varieties, as essential to all other flora and fauna.
They work tirelessly to remind people of the Netherlands’rich biodiversity (1,500 species of local flowers), working in partnership with 32 schools, as well as universities and hospitals, to raise as much awareness as possible about the need to protect wild flowers. Marieke and Arjan have helped plant 2,500 trees and a number of sweeping flower meadows in the town of Nijmegen. Buoyed by the success of their initiatives, they set up a nursery to help bring yet more flowers into the hearts of both the town and its inhabitants.

If you want to find out more about our tree planting programme in France and around the world ?

DISCOVER THE PLANT FOR THE PLANET PROGRAMME. 

SUPPORT comitted women,
initiatives in favour of biodiversity and the Foundation's work.
#let's cultivate commitment
together

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Marieke Ketelaar de champs de fleurs sauvages en ville

Marieke Ketelaar

Dites-le avec des fleurs !

Avec leur association NL Bloeit, Marieke Ketelaar et Arjan Verhout sèment des champs de fleurs sauvages en plein cœur de la ville. Fervents défenseurs des espèces natives, ils font fleurir l’idée qu’elles sont indispensables à l’équilibre de l’écosystème local et donnent un nouveau visage à la ville.

Les fleurs, comme les arbres, les haies, les sols, etc. sont essentielles à l’équilibre de l’écosystème.

Marieke Ketelaar et Arjan Verhout ont la passion des fleurs. Romantiques ? Peut-être. Ecologistes ? Certainement. Ils ont cofondé en 2013, l’association NL Bloeit dans l’objectif de promouvoir et protéger les fleurs natives des Pays-Bas sur l’espace public.
Ces deux « piqués » au vert se défendent de ne penser qu’aux abeilles. Pour eux, les fleurs, surtout d’essences locales, sont essentielles à l’équilibre du reste de la flore et de la faune.

Inlassablement, ils rappellent la richesse de la biodiversité néerlandaise, (1500 espèces de fleurs locales), en collaborant avec près de 32 écoles, mais aussi des universités et des hôpitaux, objectif sensibiliser le plus grand nombre à la préservation des fleurs sauvages. Marieke et Arjan ont contribué à planter 2500 arbres et de nombreux vastes champs de fleurs au cœur de la ville de Nijmegen. Transportés par le succès de leurs actions, ils ont créé une pépinière pour fleurir encore plus la ville et le cœur de ses habitants.

 

Vous avez envie d’en savoir plus sur notre programme de plantation d’arbres en France et dans le monde ?

Découvrez Plantons pour la planète.

SOUTENEZ les femmes engagées
et les actions pour la biodiversité de la Fondation
#cultivonslengagement

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager