Marianne Hassenstein

Marianne Hassenstein

Conserving dry-stone walls

Through Fondation Actions Environnement, Marianne is building awareness of the importance of protecting the dry-stone walls that meander their way across the Swiss countryside, providing shelter for lots of different animals and rare plants.

Marianne Hassenstein is the founder of Fondation Actions Environnement. Through this foundation, she is raising awareness about the importance of respecting nature and protecting endangered landscapes by building dry-stone walls across Switzerland. Dry-stone walls are living testimonies to ancient construction techniques that are still standing centuries later. Built without cement or mortar, they are nevertheless incredibly sturdy. The walls serve to delineate pastures and protect farmland from wind and avalanches. Supporting walls are used to form terraces that stabilise the land and allow the soil to be used for farming, particularly viticulture. Dry-stone walls lend landscapes structure and visual interest. They also provide crucial shelter for many different animals and rare plants. Sadly, these walls are gradually disappearing, with invaluable biotopes vanishing with them. Thanks to her foundation, Marianne is reviving this old construction technique by renovating dry-stone walls across Switzerland. Through targeted partnerships, books and classes, she shines a light on this ancient art, sharing her expertise and knowledge with the people of today for the people of tomorrow.

Marianne has been the director of Fondation Actions Environnement (FAE) for over 30 years. She first launched her “Dry-Stone Wall Construction” initiative in 1994. Every year, she runs sessions for around 3,000 people across Switzerland on themes as varied as tree-planting, forest and nature reserve management, dry-stone wall construction, and path and trail restoration. Since 1994, over 40,000 m² of dry-stone walls have been built or restored across Switzerland, overseen by the FAE’s specialists and with the support of volunteers. In parallel, Marianne published a reference book on the subject in 2014: Trockenmauern – Grundlagen, Bauanleitung, Bedeutung, which required six years of preparation and research.

The FAE aims to protect nature and preserve Switzerland’s historic landscapes. The foundation protects endangered natural spaces and ensures cultural landscapes are preserved by rolling out volunteer projects across Switzerland. The FAE has become a national centre of expertise in dry-stone walls. The foundation’s other objective is to educate teenagers and adults about the importance of respecting nature. The FAE lends its support to disadvantaged regions, with volunteers playing a key role in supporting mountain villages and communities as well as alpine pasture companies. Working together for the common good is one of the FAE’s core values.

Are you working on a project that fosters biodiversity, and has a positive social and environmental impact? Do you need support to take your ideas further?

If so, apply to the Terre de Femmes Award and you may just secure a grant and the support of an entire network of inspiring women!

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Marianne Hassenstein

Marianne Hassenstein

Préserver les murs de pierres sèches

Avec la Fondation Actions Environnement, Marianne sensibilise à la préservation des murs de pierres sèches qui animent les paysages suisses et abritent beaucoup d'animaux et de plantes rares.

Marianne Hassenstein est la directrice de la Fondation Actions Environnement. Elle sensibilise au respect de la nature et à la préservation des paysages menacés par la construction de murs de pierres sèches à travers la Suisse. Les murs de pierres sèches sont les témoins d’une technique de construction vieille de plusieurs siècles. Construits sans ciment ni mortier, ils sont néanmoins très solides. Les murs servent à délimiter des pâturages et à protéger les terres exploitées du vent ou des avalanches. Avec des murs de soutènement, des terrasses sont constituées pour stabiliser le terrain et permettre l’exploitation agricole, notamment viticole. Les murs de pierres sèches structurent et animent nos paysages. De plus, ils abritent beaucoup d’animaux et de plantes rares. Malheureusement, ces murs disparaissent petit à petit et, avec eux, de précieux biotopes. Marianne à travers sa Fondation fait revivre cette technique de construction, rénovant des murs de pierres sèches en Suisse entière. Par ses cours, livres et partenariats spécifiques, elle promeut et diffuse son savoir-faire et ses connaissances en la matière au bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures.

Marianne est directrice de la Fondation Actions Environnement (FAE) depuis plus de 30 ans. C’est en 1994 qu’elle initie le projet « Construction de murs de pierre sèche ». Chaque année, elle organise dans toute la Suisse des interventions pour environ 3000 personnes comme par exemple : la plantation d’arbres, l’entretien des forêts et réserves naturelles, la construction des murs de pierres sèches, la réparation des chemins etc. Depuis 1994, dans 170 endroits différents de Suisse, plus de 40 000 m2 de murs de pierres sèches ont été construits ou rénovés sous la direction des spécialistes de la FAE et avec l’aide de bénévoles. Parallèlement, Marianne publie en 2014 un ouvrage de référence «Trockenmauern – Grundlagen, Bauanleitung, Bedeutung» à l’issue d’un travail de préparations de 6 ans.

La FAE agit dans le but de protéger la nature et d’entretenir le patrimoine paysager. La Fondation protège des zones naturelles menacées et veille à l’entretien de paysages culturels en organisant des chantiers de bénévoles à travers la Suisse. La FAE est devenue un centre national de compétences en matière de pierre sèche. L’autre objectif est de sensibiliser des adolescents et des adultes au respect de la nature. La FAE apporte de l’aide aux régions défavorisées, les bénévoles apportant une contribution importante pour les communes et populations de montagne ainsi que les sociétés d’alpage. Œuvrer ensemble pour une bonne cause est pour la FAE un principe primordial.


Vous aussi, vous avez un projet en faveur de la biodiversité, avec une visée sociale et environnementale ? Vous cherchez à être soutenue pour le faire avancer ?

Candidatez au Prix Terre de Femmes et décrochez peut-être une bourse et le soutien de tout un réseau de femmes engagées.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager