inès rodrigues drops of light

Inès Rodrigues

A light in the darkness

Inès Rodrigues created the NGO EducAfrica. The goal? To find sustainable solutions to improve living conditions for villagers in Guinea-Bissau.

Inès Rodrigues is a language teacher at the CICCOPN vocational training centre, and lives in Maia in northern Portugal. It was through chatting to her African students that she became aware of the difficulties these boys and girls were experiencing on a daily basis. In 2011, something in her shifted, and she decided to set up EducAfrica. This NGO brings teachers and students in Portugal together to find sustainable, long-lasting solutions to improve the living conditions of villagers in eight villages in Guinea-Bissau.

ines rodrigues educafrica

In Guinea-Bissau, 70% of inhabitants have no access to electricity and this has a direct impact on families’ everyday lives.

 

 

In Guinea-Bissau, 70% of inhabitants have no access to electricity

Inès’s objectivesare two-fold: to focus on the real needs expressed by local communities, and to come up with sustainable, inexpensive solutions in response. In Guinea-Bissau, 70% of inhabitants have no access to electricity and this has a direct impact on families’ everyday lives. Women are particularly affected by this situation, as they are forced to cook and care for their children in complete darkness when night falls. At the maternity centre, women are forced to give birth in the dark at huge risk to their health and that of their newborns.

Beacons of light

The “Gouttes de lumières” (“Drops of Light”) project was established to banish this darkness. The concept was to set up solar lamps made from recycled water bottles. Each individual lamp provides 40 watts of light per day, which is enough to light up one health centre or home. Two other projects have emerged since 2011. The first involves fruit dehydrators, allowing villagers to preserve and sell the fruit they harvest abundantly throughout the year (such as mangoes and bananas) in order to generate extra income for their families. The second aims to collect waste for recycling.

« inès rodrigues villages guinea-bissau

A project spearheaded by one woman

Inès admits that it hasn’t always been easy to get her voice heard in a country where women aren’t always entrusted with responsibilities. But things are changing, and Inès is now the go-to contact person for many of the villages’ men and women.

EducAfrica chose not to export materials from Portugal, but to work instead directly with local raw materials and capacities.

More about the Inès project:

Website EducAfrica

Facebook @EDUCAFRICA

Instagram @educafrica_ongd

 

 

Are you working on a project that fosters biodiversity, and has a positive social and environmental impact? Do you need support to take your ideas further?

If so, apply to the Terre de Femmes Award and you may just secure a grant and the support of an entire network of inspiring women!

 
 

 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

inès rodrigues gouttes de lumière

Inès Rodrigues

Une lumière dans la nuit

Inès Rodrigues a créé l’ONG Educafrica. Objectif, trouver des solutions durables pour améliorer les conditions de vie de villageois en Guinée Bissau.

Ines Rodrigues est professeure de langues au centre de formation professionnelle CICCOPN, et vit à Maia, au nord du Portugal. C’est en discutant avec des élèves d’origine africaine qu’elle prend conscience des difficultés que ces garçons et ces filles vivent au quotidien. En 2011, elle a le déclic et décide de créer l’ONG Educafrica. Cette ONG fait collaborer les professeur·e·s et les étudiant·e·s au Portugal pour trouver des solutions durables et pérennes permettant d’améliorer les conditions de vie des habitant·e·s de 8 villages en Guinée Bissau.
ines rodrigues educafrica

En Guinée Bissau, 70% des habitants n’ont pas accès à l’électricité, ce qui impacte directement le quotidien des familles.

En Guinée Bissau, 70% des habitant·e·s n’ont pas accès à l’électricité

Le plan d’action d’Inès est double : partir des besoins concrets identifiés par les populations et trouver des réponses à la fois durables et non coûteuses. En Guinée Bissau, 70% des habitants n’ont pas accès à l’électricité, ce qui impacte directement le quotidien des familles. Les femmes, particulièrement impactées, sont contraintes de cuisiner et de s’occuper des enfants dans l’obscurité, la nuit tombée. Au centre de santé maternelle, les femmes doivent accoucher dans le noir, ce qui représente un risque élevé pour leur santé et celle des nourrissons.

Une pluie de projets lumineux

Le projet «Gouttes de lumières» voit le jour afin de pallier cette obscurité, et prévoit l’installation d’une lampe solaire réalisée à partir d’une bouteille d’eau recyclée. Chacune de ces lampes apporte 40 watts de lumière par jour, soit une énergie suffisante pour éclairer un centre de santé ou une maison. Depuis 2011, deux autres projets ont vu le jour : Un premier concerne la création de déshydrateurs de fruits, permettant de conserver et vendre les fruits qui poussent en abondance toute l’année (comme les mangues et les bananes), afin de fournir un revenu supplémentaire aux familles. Le second projet a pour objectif de collecter les déchets pour les recycler.

 

inès rodrigues villages guinée bissau

Un combat porté par une femme

Inès reconnaît qu’il n’a pas été facile de s’imposer dans un pays qui n’accepte pas toujours que les femmes aient des responsabilités. Les choses changent cependant : désormais, Inès est l’interlocutrice de nombreuses femmes et hommes des villages.

 

Educafrica a choisi de ne pas exporter de matériaux depuis le Portugal, mais de travailler directement à partir des matières premières et des capacités guinéennes.

 

 

Plus d’infos sur le projet d’Inès :

Site EducAfrica

Facebook @EDUCAFRICA

Instagram @educafrica_ongd

Vous aussi, vous avez un projet en faveur de la biodiversité, avec une visée sociale et environnementale ? Vous cherchez à être soutenue pour le faire avancer ?

Candidatez au Prix Terre de Femmes et décrochez peut-être une bourse et le soutien de tout un réseau de femmes engagées.

 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager