Autistic organic farmers who are proud of their produce!

Fanny Struelens

Ploughing difference into nature

Fanny Struelens received an award for setting up a fully organic market gardening initiative for adults with autism.

Fanny Struelens won the 2011 Terre de Femmes Award. She set up an organic farm for the autistic adults she cares for at the La Pradelle ESAT centre, in the town of Vauvert, Camargue. She patiently teaches these groups with inclusion difficulties how to plant, care for and harvest fruit and vegetables without using pesticides.

Where do you think your love of working the land comes from?

As a child, I spent every waking moment wandering around our family’s big garden, or in the Soignes forest near Brussels, where I grew up. I was never into Barbies; I’ve always preferred digging my hands into the soil. I can’t explain why. I just liked being out in the fresh air, growing fruit and vegetables with my father and sharing them with family and friends. I couldn’t imagine being stuck indoors in an office job.

I was never into Barbies; I’ve always preferred digging my hands into the soil.

 

 

Based on your experience, do you think farming is part of the therapeutic process?

Gardening is enormously reassuring for them. It provides them with a sense of structure. It gives them a sense of passing time, as the vegetables grow and change colour. If the tomatoes are green, it means it’s spring. If they’re red, it means it’s summer. Cabbage arrives in winter, and so on. The teamwork aspect is also very beneficial. It forces them to communicate with others and gets them out of their bubble. They’ve really progressed over time and acquired some useful skills. Every new harvest is synonymous with a job well done.

How has the Terre de Femmes Award helped you?

The Yves Rocher Foundation’s Terre de Femmes Award gave us the funds we needed to set up a new greenhouse. As a result, we’ve been able to double our yields and diversify our crops. We were also able to buy ergonomic tools better suited to our workers and, most importantly, a tractor. All the time we’re saving with our new tools means I have more time to give to our teams on the ground. I have more scope for supporting them. The Foundation’s support allowed us to increase our turnover by 60% and, more importantly, to provide extra support to these people who need specific, tailored working conditions.

The workers prepare 30 fruit and veg boxes per week, priced at €15. The produce is sold to individuals as well as local restaurants and canteens, all of whom love being able to source good, fresh, local ingredients.

More about Fanny’s project:

Website La Pradelle

 

 

Are you working on a project that fosters biodiversity, and has a positive social and environmental impact? Do you need support to take your ideas further?

If so, apply to the Terre de Femmes Award and you may just secure a grant and the support of an entire network of inspiring women!

 
 
 
 

 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Share

Fanny struelens autisme

Fanny Struelens

La différence au service de la nature

Fanny Struelens est primée pour avoir créé un atelier d’activité maraichère entièrement bio avec des adultes atteints d’autisme.

Fanny Struelens est la lauréate 2011 du Prix Terre de Femmes. Elle a mis en place une exploitation agricole bio et y fait participer les adultes atteints d’autisme dont elle a la charge au sein de l’ESAT La Pradelle dans la commune de Vauvert, en Camargue. Patiemment, elle apprend à ce public en difficulté à planter, soigner et récolter des fruits et légumes sans faire usage de pesticide.

D’où t’est venu ton amour pour le travail de la terre ?

Enfant, je passais tout mon temps à me promener dans notre grand jardin familial ou dans la forêt de Soignes, près de Bruxelles où j’ai grandi. Les poupées Barbie ne m’ont jamais attirée, j’ai toujours préféré mettre les mains dans la terre… Je ne sais pas expliquer pourquoi. J’aimais simplement être au grand air, faire pousser des fruits, des légumes avec mon père et les partager avec la famille ou les amis. Je ne pouvais m’imaginer travailler enfermée dans un bureau.

Les poupées Barbie ne m’ont jamais attirée, j’ai toujours préféré mettre les mains dans la terre.

D’expérience, peux-tu dire que l’agriculture participe à la thérapie ?

Cette activité les rassure énormément et leur permet de se structurer. Ils se repèrent par exemple dans le temps avec la couleur et l’évolution des légumes. La tomate est verte : nous sommes au printemps. Elle est rouge : nous sommes en été. Les choux annoncent l’hiver, etc. Le travail en équipe se révèle aussi très positif. Cela les oblige à communiquer avec les autres et les sort de leur isolement. Avec le temps ils ont progressé et acquis de véritables compétences. Chaque nouvelle récolte est synonyme de reconnaissance du travail accompli.

Que t’a apporté le Prix Terre de Femmes ?

Le Prix Terre de Femmes décerné par la Fondation Yves Rocher nous a donné les moyens d’installer une nouvelle serre. Nous avons ainsi multiplié par deux et diversifié notre production. Nous avons également pu acheter des outils ergonomiques mieux adaptés aux ouvriers, mais surtout un tracteur. Tout le temps gagné grâce à ces nouveaux équipements me permet de me consacrer plus à mes équipes sur le terrain et les accompagner au mieux. Le soutien de la Fondation nous a permis d’augmenter notre chiffre d’affaires de 60 % mais surtout de suivre au plus près ces personnes qui ont besoin de conditions de travail particulièrement adaptées.

 

Les ouvriers préparent 30 paniers par semaine au prix de 15 euros. La production est vendue à des particuliers mais elle alimente aussi les cantines et restaurants locaux, ravis de se fournir à proximité de bons produits frais.

 

Plus d’infos sur le projet de Fanny : 

Site La Pradelle

Vous aussi, vous avez un projet en faveur de la biodiversité, avec une visée sociale et environnementale ? Vous cherchez à être soutenue pour le faire avancer ?

Candidatez au Prix Terre de Femmes et décrochez peut-être une bourse et le soutien de tout un réseau de femmes engagées.

 

 

 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Partager